Sleepy Hollow – Season 1, Episode 1: “Pilot”

Random thought from opening fight scene:  *Creepy mask guy is creepy.*  I also thought of the Monty Python sketch where the two knights are fighting in the forest.  “No, it’s only a scratch.” “Only a scratch?!  You’re headless!”

The scene where Ichabod nearly gets run over reminds me a bit of Dark Shadows with Johnny Depp.  There is a really similar scene in it.

Opening credits song:  Sympathy for the Devil by The Rolling Stones – Excellent Song Choice

Image

So excited to see Clancy Brown!  The next scene, I tweeted this “Be careful” is usually a bad sign for the person who says it. Hope I’m wrong.”  I’ll be damned if I wasn’t.  Abbie finding the tapes Corbin (is that right?) made gives me hope he’ll be back in flashbacks.  I’ve loved Clancy Brown since he was The Kurgan in the original Highlander movie.

I knew there was something up with the priest as soon as I saw him.  After finding out that the Sheriff was on to the supernatural happenings in Sleepy Hollow, the looks the priest was giving him have a bit more context.  Hopefully, we’ll find out more about that.

I love that Ichabod is being played as a bit of a smartass and isn’t completely bumfuzzled by the present time.  I have to question how smart he is though when he’s locked in a jail cell and starts talking about killing someone.  From the Revolutionary War or not, you’ve got to know that admitting to beheading someone is not a good move.

I don’t understand how their police department works.  Where I’m from, the Sheriff’s department and the police department are not the same.  Sheriff is the county law enforcement, police is city.  They help each other out, but the leadership and officers are completely separate entities.  So, if Abbie’s partner was the Sheriff, why does it seem like Orlando Jones is her boss?

Speaking of which, I don’t trust Orlando Jones’ character (didn’t catch his name).  He has suspicious crazy eyes.  He’s either a bad guy, clueless or like Renard on Grimm.  Knows the score, not a bad guy or good guy, just out for himself.

The Horseman adapted to modern weapons pretty quickly.

I really liked this show.  Keeping my fingers crossed that Fox actually gives it a chance.  Looks like it’s going to be a wild ride.

Favorite Lines:

  • “First I shot him. Beheading him seemed like the next logical step.” — Ichabod
  • “You think he can hear us?”  “How the hell should I know?” — Random Police Officers

Photo Credit:  FOX

3 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow – Season 1, Episode 1: “Pilot”

  1. I agree, and hope it lasts!

    I was overwhelmed with the premiere of Sleepy Hollow. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and I’m happy to watch a Monday night thriller that doesn’t include vampires, werewolves and zombies. Although, the headless horseman is a symbol of the walking dead, or should I say, the dead on horseback.

    I hope the show continues to built on the mystery, and perhaps the audience will find out how Ichabod and the headless horseman traveled to the present.

    I’m looking forward to the next episode.

      • Yes, I remember the scene. Perhaps the horseman, representing one of the 4 horseman in the Book of Revelations is the future, so that’s why he returned, too.

        Oh well, I’m excited about next week’s episode.

        Thank you.

Leave a Reply

