Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – Season 1, Episode 6: “FZZT”

Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: F.Z.Z.T

Has May died too?  That conversation with Coulson seemed to hint at it.  I think she knows more about what happened to Coulson than she’s letting on.  She’s been suspicious of what’s going on with him and Amador flat out told her something was different about him.  So why did she work so hard to reassure him that what he was feeling was perfectly normal after a near-death experience? Maybe she knows what Agent Hill and Dr. Streiten know and is trying to throw Coulson off track.

When Coulson was talking to the fireman, I half expected him to say that the afterlife was a “magical place.”  I’ve read speculation that Coulson is an LMD.  Things that happened in this episode make me question that.  Several people now have commented on how different Coulson is now.  If an LMD is meant to be an exact copy of a person, he shouldn’t be any different.  Dying shouldn’t have had a psychological effect on an android.  An electromagnetic pulse like the ones that happened in this episode, should have had an effect on him.  That’s a nasty looking scar on his chest.

I really like the way the show is tying into the Marvel movie universe.  I think this episode made the most use of that connection.  Yes, a couple of the episodes have revolved around Extremis but what happened in this episode was a direct result of what happened in The Avengers.  How many more people might be infected with that virus?  I would assume other people took souvenirs from the battle in New York.

It’s pretty obvious to me, and I think Skye too, that Fitz is in love with Simmons.  I don’t think Simmons has any clue.  How funny is it that they failed their field agent tests but Simmons jumped at the chance to board “The Bus?”  Fitz tagged along, even though he pretty much hates everything about being in the field, because I don’t think he’d know what to do if he didn’t have Simmons by his side.

Of course, FitzSimmons would be the first to forgive Skye.  They’re the least agent-y people on the team.  Ward  is having a harder time not only because he’s so by the book but because he had started to care for Skye.  Other than Coulson, I think he was probably the most hurt by her lies.  Not that he’d ever admit that.  It was nice to see a bit of a thaw there.  Does he know about her parents?

I think this has been my favorite episode of the season so far.  I’m beginning to become emotionally invested enough in the characters that I worried for Simmons and got a little misty in a couple places.  Joss’ shows tend to start out slow, but it seems like it might be starting to find it’s footing.

Favorite Lines:

  • “I don’t sweat, I glisten.” — Coulson
  • “You don’t have to call me IronMan.” — Coulson

Photo Credit:  Get Glue and ABC

2 thoughts on “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – Season 1, Episode 6: “FZZT”

  1. Pingback: TV Review: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., “FZZT” (S1/E6) – Do We Like Fitz and Simmons Now? | We Minored In Film

  2. Pingback: Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D. – FZZT #AgentsOfShield | TV And Comics

Leave a Reply

